Skip to content

Usage and cost ​

The Usage & cost page shows how many tokens each of your sessions used and what the API-key sessions cost, plus the CPU time, memory and network traffic of their pods. You can set yourself a monthly API budget there. With Enterprise, admins can set budgets for the whole organisation, a group or a single user.

Edition: Community (Usage page, personal budget) · Enterprise (organisation-wide limits) · Who: every signed-in user for their own sessions; admin for organisation limits

Opening the page ​

Click Usage & cost in the sidebar. The home page also shows Top spend by session, with a link to the full page. You only ever see your own sessions.

What the page shows ​

CardMeaning
API costMoney for API-key sessions, as the agent CLI itself reported it.
Subscription usageTokens (and turns, where the CLI records them) of sessions that run on a subscription login. No dollar amount: this counts against your plan's limits, not money.
TokensAll tokens: input, output and cache.
ComputeCPU time of your session pods, and network traffic received and sent.

Below that, Token mix splits all tokens into input, output, cache read and cache create.

Cost by session lists every session with its tokens, token mix, pod resources (CPU time, peak memory, data received and sent) and a cost or usage column. The pill in that column says how the session is billed:

PillMeaningCounts against the budget
apiBilled to your stored API key. Shows the reported cost, or not reported if the CLI reports tokens only.Yes
subCovered by a subscription login. Shows turns.No
self-hostedA custom model endpoint; no provider bill.No
autobilling unknown: an interactive Claude session with both a login and an API key stored, where the CLI asked which to use.No

Whether a session counts as API spend is decided by the credential the hub gave the session, not by the cost figure the CLI sends. Claude Code and OpenCode also report a price-table cost for subscription sessions; that figure does not count as spend.

Which agents are recorded ​

AgentTokensCost
Claude CodeYes, needs telemetry.enabled (default on)Reported by the CLI
CodexYesNot reported: the CLI computes no price
OpenCodeYesReported by the CLI
OpenClawYesReported by the CLI
CursorNot recorded—

Codex, OpenCode and OpenClaw usage is read from each CLI's own records in the pod about every 30 seconds and when the agent exits. Only the numbers leave the pod, never conversation content. OpenCode does not count its own title-generation request, so its figures can be slightly below what the provider bills.

If the table says No usage recorded yet, check that telemetry.enabled is set on the server for Claude sessions.

Your monthly API budget ​

Under Monthly API budget, enter an amount in My limit (USD/month) and click Save. Leave the field empty and save to remove your limit. The bar shows this calendar month's API spend (UTC) against the limit that applies to you. When an admin limit is stricter than yours, the bar says set by your admin and names its scope.

What happens at the limit ​

Once this month's API spend reaches the limit, new API-billed sessions are blocked; subscription sessions still work. In detail:

  • Starting a session that would bill an API key is refused with "Monthly API budget reached … Use a subscription session or raise the limit." This applies when a session is created, resumed, restarted for a runtime update (Update now) or restarted to apply new resources, including sessions started from chat, webhooks or the API.
  • Sessions that are already running are not stopped.
  • Only agents whose CLI reports a cost are gated: Claude Code, OpenCode and OpenClaw. Codex and Cursor sessions are never refused, because their API use never adds to the budget.
  • Subscription sessions, self-hosted endpoints and auto sessions with unknown billing are never refused. An unattended Claude session in Auto mode with an API key stored counts as API-billed, because the CLI then uses the key.

A budget, not a spending cap

The budget counts the API cost that the agents report. It is not a guarantee on your total provider spend: running sessions continue, and Codex and Cursor costs are not counted.

Organisation-wide limits ​

With an Enterprise licence, admins set limits under Settings → Usage limits & groups:

  • Global limit: an amount per user and month that applies to everyone.
  • Per-user and per-group limits: choose user or group, enter the username or group name and the amount, then click Add. Groups come from your OIDC provider's groups claim (see Administration).

For each user, the strictest limit wins: the lowest of the global limit, the limits of their groups, their own user limit and their personal limit. Each limit applies to that user's own spend; a group limit is not a shared pool for the whole group. Without a valid licence, only personal limits apply.

AGPL-3.0 core with an enterprise edition under ee/.